Hair part 2, and an award!

Yesterday I went in for a hair modeling session. As I suspected, it was significantly less glamorous than the term “modeling” might imply. There’s a ritzy salon near my office that has an intensive apprenticeship program, and the woman who approached me last week is one of the newest hires. She’s practicing styling different types of hair, and curly hair poses a particular challenge. So, although I signed a photo release, the session was not about modeling the salon’s offerings for the public, but about allowing a new and growing hairstylist to practice her craft on my head.

It was a fascinating experience, being the canvas for a craftsman-in-training. The apprentice was clearly nervous, and spent some time debating what style to choose to practice on me. She was supervised the whole time by the salon owner, who stepped in at one point to demonstrate a tweak in technique that made for a smoother curl. As someone who loves–even craves–getting feedback on my work, I was riveted more by their conversation than by what she was actually doing to my hair. And so, for the first time in a long time, when the person handling my hair commented on how thin and fine and soft it was, I didn’t cringe and go dull. I just smiled and nodded and let her go on.

As for the hairstyle itself? It was glorious. I looked as if I’d just rolled out of bed that morning with smooth, romantic curls cascading over my shoulders. It was a relaxed, effortless look–and it took three styling products and a solid hour of meticulous blow-drying to achieve. There, I guess, is the rub of hanging my feminine aspirations on my hair: I have neither the time nor the patience (nor, truth be told, the eye-hand coordination) to make myself look so effortlessly polished on a regular basis. So I’ve not been entirely convinced to start showing my hair off more often, but the experience has convinced me that maybe my hair isn’t as freakshow-odd as I’ve convinced myself it is. Under the right circumstances, it can be quite lovely.

And, on the subject of loveliness and attention…

Hutch over at Double Barrel Outdoors has nominated me for the Lovely Blog award! I’m very honored. (By the way, if you’re interested in nature photography, definitely check out Hutch’s blog–he takes some seriously beautiful photos.)

Here are the rules of the award:

1.)  Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in your post.

2.)  Share 7 things about yourself.

3.)  Nominate 15 or so bloggers you admire.

4.)  Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know.

So, here are my 7 facts:

1. My favorite herbs are thyme, lavender and mint.

2. When I was a teenager, my dream was to be an opera singer.

3. I have never broken a bone.

4. I may or may not be distantly related to Leonard Bernstein.

5. I can make homemade Gatorade using a one-liter bottle and my bare hands.

6. I have six piercings: five in my ears and one in my nose.

7. I have worn glasses since I was five years old.

And my nominees for the Lovely Blogger award are:

Becca’s Green Kitchen

Daisy’s World

Eat the Roses (Veronika, come back to us!)

Pepper & Sherry

Foodimentary

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hair part 2, and an award!

  1. Thanks for the award! It is so kind of you and very much appreciated.

    daisy

  2. Veronika

    Hey!

    First of all, yay about hair! I’ve been born with frankly awful hair genes – despite eating vitamins, using good shampoo and sleeping enough, it’s always been shiny, pretty colored, healthy, and … naturally baby-fine. So I can absolutely relate to feeling great when your hair is the object of attention – and when it can be made to look lovely. Now, don’t you forget it!

    Thank you for the nomination and I haven’t disappeared entirely! I am just… finishing the second EC Food Law essay for this summer which is due this coming Saturday, after which I promise, I will be back with food and writing!

    I’m seriously up to eyeballs in this, but I think that at least one of the essays (on food safety law) will give rise to interesting blog posts (and hopefully good grade so here’s hoping!).

    As soon as I am done, I will write up a post about the award and more!

Leave a Reply

