Homemade celery salt

Wow. I was not expecting such a visceral response to that last post. I thought I was just being self-indulgent and navel-gazey, but I guess my little moment of victory resonated more than I knew. Thanks so much to everyone who shared their experiences. You are all amazing, and I love you dearly.

I’m afraid to follow that up with a letdown, so let’s go for utter simplicity here.

I made some celery salt last week. It’s pretty nifty.

If you’re like me and can’t bring yourself to eat celery leaves, this is a terrific way to use them up. If you’re like most of the kitchen-inclined world and hate having to buy a whole head of celery for a recipe that only uses one stalk, this will help you feel like you’re getting a little more value out of your purchase. Plus, if you’re going for the “Look what I did!” factor, this is pretty far up there. It tastes like celery–it smells like celery–only even more pungent and grassy and bright. A little of this goes a long way.

Is making your own celery salt going to change your life? No. But I’ve had enough life-changing moments for a little while, I think. This is just a little kitchen fun.

Celery Salt

Adapted, barely, from 101 Cookbooks

1 head’s worth of celery leaves, picked clean from the stalks

About 1 cup flaky sea salt*

*Flaky sea salt can get pricey, so I used regular sea salt. The results are all right, but I feel like my celery salt is merely reaching for greatness. I suspect the fancy flaky stuff is the key to really getting there.

Wash and thoroughly dry the celery leaves thoroughly. Preheat the oven to 350º F and toast the leaves on a baking sheet for 5-7 minutes, just until they start to get toasty around the edges.

Remove the baked celery leaves from the oven and let cool completely. Some of the leaves won’t dry completely; feel free to discard them.

Using a sharp knife, chop the dried celery leaves into pieces about the same size as the grains of salt you’re using. Toss with the salt until thoroughly combined, and store in an airtight container. Use any time you want to add a little extra savory depth to whatever you’re cooking.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Homemade celery salt

  1. Veronika

    Hey!

    I’ve seen that recipe myself and have been pondering making it, and now I feel that I, too, really should. It really does appeal to “look what I made!” brag factor, and looks nice in the kitchen (or I think it would in mine!).

    I use the fancy flaky stuff all the time as finishing salt, and while I think it’d be different (and possibly look fancier), regular salt soaks up flavors really well. One of my most favorite flavored salts ever was fleur de sel de camargue (solid grains, not flaky) with anisseed and saffron, and that was utterly gorgeous despite having a grainy, and almost oily texture. So, don’t think your salt is “just reaching” for greatness – the flavor is probably as good as it’d be with the flakes (which are no different from regular salt if they dissolve), but if you want more of the sparkly fluffy stuff to sprinkle as finishing salt, get the flaky one.

  2. I looked at ingredients of celery salt i have- saw that cumin was added, So took out my dried celery flakes (I dry them all the time), added sea salt and ground some cumin. wonder how long for the salt to pick up the flavor from celery leaves.

    • Ooh, adding cumin sounds interesting! I’d love to hear how you like it.

      As far as time, the salt will start absorbing the flavors right away–I started using my celery salt as soon as it was mixed. The flavors will get stronger overnight, and the salt should be completely infused the next day. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

