Tuning out

So yesterday was a pretty big deal.  And I just about missed it.

I’d been thinking for ages about how to deal with September 11, 2011.  The events of ten years ago have left a deep bruise-purple handprint on the psyche of an entire American generation–a generation of which I am part.  But everything that could be said, has been said many times over.  Anything I could say would be a whisper in an echo chamber.

So instead, I spent the day engrossed in the business of living.  I woke up late and cuddled with my boyfriend; bought a purse at the local art and wine festival; played with my friend’s new kitten; watched The Matrix; ate sushi; packed for a business trip; slept.  When I return from my trip, I’ll make myself a simple tuna and piquillo pepper sandwich, inspired by the one I ate on my last afternoon in Spain.  I’ll call my parents.  I’ll braid my hair.

Ten years ago, we questioned whether these little things might ever be so normal again.  For all the intervening upheaval, they are.  That’s no small triumph.

Bocadillo de Atún

Toast a slice of good crusty bread, and let it cool just until you can handle it without burning yourself.  Drizzle the bread with olive oil.  Cut a juicy ripe tomato in half, and rub the cut side all over one side of the bread.  Spread some canned tuna on the tomato-rubbed bread, then drape a couple pieces of roasted red pepper over top.  Lay two or three oil-packed anchovy fillets on top of the sandwich, then take a big bite and immediately make a mess of tuna and tomato all over your plate.  So.  Good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

