Farmer’s market

Last week I promised you a farmer’s market post.  And I don’t make promises lightly.  (Usually.)  So here it is, a wanton and entirely smug depiction of my hometown’s crowning jewel.

The Mountain View farmer’s market just might be the best thing about Silicon Valley.  Forget the shoreline, the palm trees, the sprawling tech company campuses.  If you like food, this market will blow your ever-loving mind.

It takes over the local train station parking lot every Sunday morning, with stall after stall after stall of fresh produce, organic meats, artisan cheeses, fabulous prepared foods, sorbet, wine, olive oil, herbs, honey, dried fruit and nuts, and even handmade soaps.  Even the New York Times called it “bountiful.”  Whenever Audrey and I have college friends come visit, we like to take them to the market and watch their eyes bug out of their heads.  And did I mention it’s year-round, with beautiful seasonal offerings even in the depths of February?

Like I said, best thing ever.

Let me show you what I mean.

Oh, I’m sorry.  Did you want some actual words?

I know, I’m being a lazy blogger, but really, I’m in the business of tantalizing.  And these photos only represent a fraction of what we saw last Sunday.  If that’s not a neon-sign advertisement for eating fresh, local, organic and seasonal, I don’t know what is.

Okay, gloating done.  I’ll be a less-lazy blogger and have a new recipe for you soon.  Promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

